Tabata. What’d you’d say?!!

Standard

Today I returned to teaching group exercise classes. Today’s class was Tabata Protocol, a form of High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). HIIT was crowned the top fitness trend in 2014 according to American College of Sports Medicine. HIIT comes in all shapes and sizes; essentially it involves short bursts of activity followed by a short period of rest or recovery. Tabata training in particular is the fitness trifecta. It’s fun, it’s fast and it leaves you dripping sweat.

Tabata training consists of eight rounds of 20 seconds of hard work, 10 seconds of rest. One Tabata cycle lasts 4 minutes; you can do the same exercise for 8 rounds, do a superset or try Tabata training on your next treadmill workout. Again, it comes in all shapes and sizes.

As a new mom I love adding Tabata training to my workouts. When I was still at home and squeezing in workouts during Gavin’s naps I made sure that my Tabata included exercises that really jacked up my heart rate (Burpees, Mt. Climbers, etc). Therefore, my Tabata training took the place of a 30 minute run or a 45 minute Spin class. In case you missed it, check out my post from 5/30/14 for a sample workout.

Today’s Tabata Protcool class was a full body Superset Tabata format.

20140609-211751-76671121.jpg

Disclaimer: Although I have a degree in Kinesiology and certified, you should consult a physician before starting any exercise program. If you choose to do any of the workouts featured on this website, you do so at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

