Happy Friday!

Standard

Maggie here! Hope everyone is having a great day and excited for weekend. So far my weekend is off to a good start. Baby Gavin did me a solid and took a nice looong nap mid morning.

20140530-141927-51567459.jpg

I used my “me time” to get a workout in and make some lunch.

20140530-161046-58246766.jpg

I completed this workout in my garage and front yard. To get started I go through a dynamic warmup and foam roll. After that I started with my strength portion with superset of Back Squat and Kettlebell Cleans. Each set of back squat I increased weight. The second part of my workout was 5 rounds of three exercises for time. I completed the Handstand Holds as long as possible against my neighbors fence. For Burpee Box Jumps I used my husband’s spare Jeep tire. (Shhh don’t tell him, he he he) and for Knees to Elbows I used a pull up bar. After a short break I set up a timer and finished up with a Tabata workout. Tabata is a form of HITT (high intensity interval training); perform movement for 20 seconds rest for 10 and repeat 8 times. You can do the same exercise for one tabata or go with a superset like I did in this workout.
I enjoyed today’s workout; I left like I pushed some good weights and definitely sweat.

After any good workout it’s time to refuel. I made a Ground Turkey and Veggie Quiche. Kim made this yummy dish at brunch a few months back. Since then it’s been a go-to meal in my house. I mix up the veggies and meat each time I make it. It’s a great way to sneak in a bunch of veggies, my husband loves it and it makes leftovers SO two thumbs up.
I attached a link to the original recipe. Today it was turkey, spinach/kale, broccoli, red peppers and onions.

20140530-171130-61890476.jpg<

Check back next week: Find out how I did in my first 5K post baby!

Disclaimer: Although I have a degree in Kinesiology and certified, you should consult a physician before starting any exercise program. If you choose to do any of the workouts featured on this website, you do so at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

